Bob Stroger

Bob Stroger and the Headcutters-That’s My Name

Bob Stroger & The Headcutters – That’s My Name
Delmark DE 871 (February 18 2022)
Compact Disc

Ninety year old bass man Bob Stroger has had an illustrious career, working with a who’s who of Blues legends from Otis Rush to Jimmy Rogers, Sunnyland Slim, Louisiana Red, and Snooky Pryor. He has performed on over 30 Delmark albums, and at the age of 91, he has joined forces with Brazil’s The Headcutters for his first solo Delmark album, That’s My Name.

Stroger was born on a farm in Missouri. In 1955, at the age of 16, he relocated with his family to Chicago’s West Side, where they lived in an apartment in back of Silvio’s nightclub. Stroger was inspired to become a musician by the sights and sounds he experienced there.

In the late 70s he began touring with Otis Rush, and played on Live in Europe and Lost in the Blues. His work as a session musician brought him together with Sunnyland Slim, Willie “Big Eyes” Smith, Carey Bell and Pinetop Perkins.

Stroger recorded two previous solo albums, In the House: Live at Lucern, vol I (2002) and Bob is Back In Town in 2007.

In 2011, the Blues Foundation presented Stroger with a Blues Music Award in the category Best Blues Bassist. He won the Best Bassist Award again in 2013.

The Headcutters are an anomalistic Brazilian Blues Band who play Chicago style blues and have a cult following in their native land.

Stroger and The Headcutters teamed up in Brazil to record That’s My Name, a CD featuring both original compositions and beloved standards.

01 What Goes On in the Dark 3:49 (H.PARKER JR.)
02 Just A Bad Boy 3:19 (EDDIE TAYLOR)
03 CC Rider 4:19 (MA RAINEY)
04 I’m A Busy Man 4:34 (ROBERT STROGER)
05 Come On Home 3:44 (ROBERT STROGER)
06 Move to the Outskirts of Town 5:32 (CASEY BILL)
07 Keep Your Hands Off Her 3:25 (JAY McSHANN)
08 Something Strange 3:21 (ROBERT STROGER)
09 Stranded in St. Louis 4:55 (H. PARKER JR.)
10 Pretty Girls 3:05 (EUGENE CHURCH)
11 Talk to Me Mama 4:07 (ROBERT STROGER)
12 Just A Dream 4:54 (BIG BILL BROONZY)
13 That’s My Name 4:18 (ROBERT STROGER)


Joe Marhofer HARMONICA
Ricardo Maca GUITAR
Arthur ‘Catuto’ Garcia BASS
Leandro ‘Cavera’ Barbeta DRUMS

Braion Johnny SAXOPHONES

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *